Keynote Speakers

Professor Esther Rothblum

Esther D. Rothblum, Ph.D., is Professor of Women’s Studies at Diego State University and editor of Fat Studies: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Body Weight and Society.  Her research and writing have focused on the stigma of weight, weight and employment discrimination, and weight across cultures. She has edited over 20 books, including Overcoming Fear of Fat (with Laura Brown in 1989).  Her most recent book, The Fat Studies Reader (with Sondra Solovay in 2009), was reviewed in The New Yorker, the New York Times, MS Magazine, and the Chronicle of Higher Education, among others, and received the Susan Koppelman Award for Best Anthology by the Popular Culture/American Culture Association and a Distinguished Publication Award from the Association for Women in Psychology.  Esther Rothblum is a member of the advisory board of the National Association to Advance Fat Acceptance and a founding co-chair of the Size Acceptance Caucus of the Association for Women in Psychology. She is also the LGBTQ+ Studies program advisor at San Diego State University, the editor of the Journal of Lesbian Studies, and conducts research on same-sex couples and on LGBTQ+ mental health.

Sonya Renee Taylor

Sonya Renee Taylor is a National and International award winning writer and performer, published author, and founder and Radical Executive Officer of The Body is Not An Apology, an international digital media and education company committed to radical self-love and body empowerment as the foundational tool of social justice, whose content  reaches over 1 million people monthly. She has shared her work and activism across the US, New Zealand, Australia, UK, Scotland, Sweden, Germany, Canada, Brazil and the Netherlands. Sonya has been seen, heard, and read on HBO, BET, MTV, TV One, NPR, PBS, CNN, Oxygen Network, The New York Times, New York Magazine,,, Huffington Post, Vogue Australia,, Ms. Magazine and many more. She has shared stages with such luminaries as the late Amiri Baraka, Angela Davis, Naomi Klein, Sonia Sanchez and others. In 2016, Sonya was a guest of the Obama White House, where she spoke about TBINAA’s work at the intersection of LGBTQIAA+ issues and disability justice. Sonya currently resides between California and New Zealand where she is an inaugural fellow in the Edmund Hilary Fellowship for global impact change makers. You can learn more about her radical self love work at


Louise Adams (originally accepted for WSC)

Chris Alaimo

Ramanpreet Annie Bahra (originally accepted for PCA/ACA)

Jacqueline Bilette

Andrea Bombak

Trish Cain (originally accepted for WSC)

Stephanie Campbell

Erin Cox

Sharon DeJoy (originally accepted for WSC)

Elyse Durcoher

Mackenzie Edwards

Kiki Fornero

Ash Gillon

Hannele Harjunen (originally accepted for PCA/ACA)

Liz Harvey (originally accepted for WSC)

Dena Hassouneh

Dave Holmes

Natalie Jovanovski (originally accepted for WSC)

Samantha Keene

Gurleen Khandapur

Victoria Knight

Jenny Lee

Brittany Lockard (originally accepted for PCA/ACA)

Sea Matheson (originally accepted for PCA/ACA)

Angela Meadows

Abigail Menzies

Mandy-Lee Noble (originally accepted for WSC)

George Parker

Cat Pausé

Amelia Perron

Anna Reeves (originally accepted for WSC)

Sean Ryan

Shirmeez Samaai

Judith Schreier

Tina Sikka

Aimee Simpson

Natalia Skoczylas

Allison Taylor (originally accepted for PCA/ACA)

Patricia Thille (originally accepted for WSC)

Sandra Webber (originally accepted for WSC)

Carolynne White (originally accepted for WSC)

Kristy Wittmeier (originally accepted for WSC)